About Iyengar Yoga

At the Yoga Center of Lawrence, we teach and practice Iyengar yoga, which is based on the teachings of B.K.S. Iyengar. Mr. Iyengar developed methods of teaching yoga to everyone, not just to the lithe, young, and flexible. At our studio, we use these methods to teach to yes, the young and supple student, but also the older, less flexible, perhaps overweight, or tired student.

Everyone is welcome here. Your teachers will pay attention to your specific needs and help you to receive the benefits of a careful and solid yoga practice. 

The Hallmarks of Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga is a form of classical yoga as developed and refined by yoga master B.K.S. Iyengar. This method utilizes alignment and breath to create integrated action and awareness. The hallmarks of Iyengar yoga are:

  • Precision in the poses, utilizing specific anatomical detail to create correct alignment.
  • An orderly, systematic progression of poses to develop the student's ability both within a class, and from class to class.
  • The use of props as teaching tools and aids, allowing students of varying abilities to work in the poses with integrity and alignment.
  • Highly developed teaching methodology including the precise use of language, demonstration and teaching of specific points of action in a pose, and individual correction and adjustment of students.
  • A complete approach to physical, mental, emotional and spiritual transformation, bringing the practitioner physical health and vitality, mental clarity and wisdom, and emotional serenity and poise.

From Karen Allgire, Green Tree Yoga

Iyengar Certification

Yoga Center teachers are preparing for or have achieved certification with the Iyengar Yoga National Association of the United States. They bring a wealth of experience to their classes, as well as a commitment to furthering their education through study with the Iyengars or with senior-level Iyengar instructors in the U.S. and abroad. In addition to the advanced study of asanas and pranayamas, their training includes teaching methods, anatomy, and philosophy.

The Iyengar Certification process is very rigorous, assuring you of a teacher well trained in the art of teaching yoga. There are six levels currently available for assessment, from Introductory to Intermediate Senior. Higher levels have been granted directly from B.K.S. Iyengar.

After years as a student of yoga and with significant early teaching experience, candidates apply for assessment. Given over the course of a weekend, prospective teachers must show proficiency in performance of the asanas at their level and take a written exam on philosophy, anatomy, and practical knowledge of teaching. In the third and most important part of the test, the candidate is observed and assessed while teaching a sample class.

This process is repeated in a year or two with a different set of poses and only then is the full certification granted at the Introductory level. After successful completion of this exam, the teacher is considered Certified and may denote that with the official Iyengar Certification Mark.

B.K.S. Iyengar, December 14, 1918 - August 20, 2014

B.K.S. Iyengar, December 14, 1918 - August 20, 2014


Iyengar Yoga certification: a sign of excellence, clarity, and depth of understanding.